Chewy Amaretti Cookies

Amaretti Cookies!

Ugh. My academic life resembles a sinusoidal graph. For those of you who have since forgotten your trigonometry (tisk-tisk), the graph of the sine curve is essentially a squiggly line. I’ll have a couple of weeks where nothing at all is due, and then I’ll have a 7 day period when I have absolutely no time to anything—party, flog, sleep, breath. Alas, I’m approaching one of those peaks. Think 2π. I’ve had virtually no time to recreationally cook for myself, let alone flog about it.
Dough
I did set aside some time on Saturday night to make some Amaretti cookies. They were absurdly easy to make, since all the mixing was done in the food processor. And while the original recipe calls for a pastry bag, you can totally snip the tip off of a zip lock baggie (insert immature circumcision joke here). That’s what I did.

Ziploc Baggy + Scissors = Pastry Bag

Ziploc Baggy + Scissors = Pastry Bag

They were a teensy bit bland on their own, so I would suggest pairing them up with something, like chocolate ganache (in between two of the cookies for the most amazing sandwich ever). I bet they’d be a great decoration on a plate of some other dessert. They were a little too chewy on the inside for my liking, but maybe that has something to do with my oven here and less with the recipe. I might cut back on the sugar just a tad as well. Try them out and let me know how they work for you.

I’m diving back down into the murky midterm waters. I’ll try to come up for air in the next week or so. Wish me luck and happy cooking!

Pre baked

Chewy Amaretti Cookies

Adapted from Lillian Chou in Gourmet, January 2009
Makes about 48 (1-inch) cookies

Ingredients
1 (7-ounce) tube pure almond paste (not marzipan; 3/4 cup)
1 cup sugar
2 large egg whites, at room temperature for 30 minutes
Instructions

Preheat oven to 300°F with racks in upper and lower thirds. Line 2 large cookie sheets  with parchment paper.

Pulse almond paste and sugar in a food processor until broken up, then add egg whites and pulse until mixture is smooth. Transfer to pastry bag and pipe 3/4-inch rounds (1/3 inch high) about an inch apart in pans. If you need to flatten any cookies, just dip a fingertip in water and gently tamp down any peaks.

Bake, rotating and switching position of pans halfway through, until golden and puffed, about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

